Schuyler S. Korban

Director of International Programs

109 Mumford Hall
1301 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801

Dr. Schuyler Korban assumed his position of Director of International Programs in the College in August 2009.  He is also a professor of Molecular Genetics & Biotechnology in the Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences, and also a Professor in the Division of Nutritional Sciences.   An internationally recognized and award-winning researcher and teacher, Korban is also an Editor-in-Chief of the journal of PCTOC: Journal of Plant Biotechnology and of the journal of Plant Molecular Biology Reporter, and serves on the editorial boards of several other scientific journals.

Korban received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the American University of Beirut and completed his Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1980.  Korban completed a postdoc at the University of Illinois and then joined the faculty of the University of Illinois in 1982.  He has a vibrant and innovative research program in the areas of plant functional genomics, molecular biology, and biotechnology with interests in studying gene expression and regulation as well as investigating the role of plant domestication on gene evolution and gene expression.  He has taught several courses on biotechnology, genetics, and breeding and excelled as a graduate advisor and mentor to undergraduate and graduate students as well as postdocs and visiting scholars and scientists.  He is also a member of the Illinois Plant Breeding Center and is affiliated with the Illinois Informatics Institute.

Korban received a Visiting Professorship for Senior International Scientists from the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2012), a Fulbright Distinguished Chair Award in 2007-2008, an Outstanding International Horticulturist Award from the American Society for Horticultural Sciences (ASHS) in 2007, and a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship in 2006-2007.  He is also a recipient of the Crop Science Research Award (2009), the Crop Science Teaching Award (2008), both from the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), the ASHS Outstanding Graduate Educator Award (2008) and the ASHS Outstanding Researcher Award (2002), among many other awards and recognitions.  He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2008), CSSA (2008), International Society for Horticultural Science (2010), American College of Nutrition (2003), and ASHS (2002).