Honoring the best of the best

Honoring the best of the best

Apr 14
Jennifer Shike, Director for Communications and Marketing

I’ll admit it. I was taken aback when I walked into the beautiful Pear Tree Estate last evening for the College of ACES and Paul A. Funk Recognition Awards event. The atmosphere was incredible and the efforts of the many people who helped make this event happen did not go unnoticed. Kendra Courson and her special events team did a wonderful job of creating a memorable event to recognize our ACES family.

I was fortunate to sit with two ACES Award of Merit winners who have had a great impact in my life, both personally and professionally – Dan Hoge and Kenna Rathai. Watching them receive their awards and be recognized for their achievements was inspiring.

The videos created by our ACES video team were incredible and provided us a glimpse into the lives and careers of those being honored last evening.

A special congratulations to our Paul A. Funk Recognition Award winners Elvira de Mejia of Food Science and Human Nutrition, Brian Diers of Crop Sciences, and Alan Hansen of Agricultural and Biological Engineering; our Faculty Award for Global Impact winner Karen Chapman-Novakofski of Food Science and Human Nutrition; and the Spitze Land-Grant Professorial Career Excellence Award winner Scott Irwin of Agricultural and Consumer Economics.

To see a complete list of winners, check out the award website. Videos and photos will be uploaded soon, too!


Funk Awards banquet 2015