Donald Ort among four Illinois professors elected to National Academy of Sciences
Don Ort
May 3, 2017
  • /ACES
  • /ACES News
  • /Crop Sciences

URBANA, Ill. — Donald Ort, professor in the University of Illinois Departments of Crop Sciences and Plant Biology, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest professional honors a scientist can receive. Ort and three additional U of I professors are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates announced by the Academy on May 2.

Ort’s research focuses on the growth and photosynthetic performance of plants in the context of commonly occurring environmental conditions, such as low temperatures and drought. Ort and his colleagues also are interested in the response of plants to increasing atmospheric carbon dioxide and surface ozone levels.

Ort is a member of the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology and director of the SoyFACE facility at U of I, and holds an appointment as a physiologist with the USDA ARS’s Photosynthesis Research Unit. He also served as the editor-in-chief of Plant Physiology and as associate editor of Annual Review of Plant Biology. Ort has received numerous awards and recognitions, including being listed as one of Thomson Reuters’ “Most Influential Scientific Minds.”

"The entire campus community is celebrating the election of our colleagues to the National Academy of Sciences," said Robert J. Jones, chancellor of the Urbana-Champaign campus. "This is one of our nation’s highest honors for scientific achievement, and we are proud to see four more of our distinguished faculty taking their places in this prestigious institution."

U of I professors John CronanJeffrey Moore, and Gary Parker join Ort in achieving this prestigious honor. To learn more about them, visit the Illinois News Bureau.