ACES recognizes 2023 Funk Awards recipients

Hans Stein speaks at the podium with dean Germán Bollero in the background holding the plaque.
Hans Stein receives Paul A. Funk Recognition at the 2023 Funk Awards.

The College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) honored exceptional faculty, staff, and graduate students at the 2023 Paul A. Funk Recognition Awards banquet on Sept. 18 at Pear Tree Estate. Below is a list of award recipients who were recognized by ACES dean Germán Bollero during the ceremony. 

"We are immensely proud to recognize the recipients of the Funk Awards," Bollero said. "Their outstanding dedication to innovation and excellence in research, teaching, and service embodies the spirit of our college and inspires us all to continue to push boundaries, lead by example, and strive to live up to our land-grant values."

This awards ceremony is made possible by generous support from the Funk family and the Paul A. Funk Foundation as well as other award donors who provide steadfast assistance.

2023 Award Recipients

Paul A. Funk Recognition

Spitze Land-Grant Professorial Career Excellence Award

Runge Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award

Faculty Award for Global Impact

Team Award for Excellence

The Plant Diagnostic Clinic

Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Faculty Award for Excellence in Research

  • Senior
    Yong-Su Jin, Food Science and Human Nutrition
  • College
    Kaiyu Guan, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences

Faculty Award for Excellence in Extension

John Clyde and Henrietta Downey Spitler Teaching Award

Specialized Faculty Teaching Award

Professional Staff Award for Excellence

  • Sustained Excellence — Advising, Teaching and Outreach
    Katelyn Jones-Hamlow, Animal Sciences
  • Sustained Excellence — Research
    Tim Lecher, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Sustained Excellence — Innovation and Creativity
    Kendra Courson, ACES Admin
  • Sustained Excellence — Administrative/Management or Technical Contributions
    Leslie Alexander, Food Science and Human Nutrition

Marcella M. Nance Staff Award

Staff Award for Excellence

Service Recognition Award

Graduate Student Research Award

  • Ph.D.
    Xiaomei Li, Human Development and Family Studies
  • M.S.
    John Bieber, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences

Louis V. Logeman Graduate Student Teaching Award